Turkish volleyball side Vak?fBank grabbed its second Volleyball Champions League title in straight sets against its Azerbaijani rival Rabita Baku at Burhan Felek Volleyball Hall on Sunday.

Vak?fBank did not lose any Champions League matches this year. With its 25-17, 25-20 and 25-23 victory, the Turkish side repeated its title win from 2011, a match also played against Rabita Baku. In 2012, another Turkish side, Fenerbahçe, won the Champions League title.

Vak?fBank’s Serbian hitter Jovana Brakocevic was chosen as the Most Valuable Player of the Final Four tournament.

The Final Four event was hosted by Turkey’s Galatasaray Daikin at Burhan Felek. Vak?fBank defeated the fellow Turks in the first game of the Final Four tournament to become the finalists. Galatasaray lost the match for third-place against Italian side Unendo Yamamay Busto Arsizio earlier on Sunday. Staying in the court after their side’s game was over, Galatasaray fans supported Vak?fBank in the final, a move appreciated by Vak?fBank’s players.

Vak?fBank volleyball team chairman Ömer Faruk Ergin thanked Galatasaray for hosting an exemplary tournament and the club’s fans for supporting Vak?fBank.

In 2011, Vak?fBank, then named Vak?fBank Güne? Sigorta Türk Telekom, won its first championship in the Final Four, also held in ?stanbul.

Vak?fBank received congratulations from the top echelon of the state and the nation’s sports world. President Abdullah Gül and Sports Minister Suat K?l?ç congratulated the team on its latest success.

The Turkish Football Federation (TFF) also issued a message on its website to congratulate Vak?fBank on its second championship.

In Turkey, women’s volleyball is one of the internationally top-achieving disciplines. The women’s national volleyball team became part of a small group of non-football celebrities from the sporting world after they earned a ticket to participate in the Olympics last summer for the first time. The news of the volleyball team’s qualification elated the nation because it meant the end of the 52-year drought of Turkish representation in team sports in the Summer Games.

Turkish women’s volleyball teams are used to competing in the top continental and worldwide tournaments. Fenerbahçe, formerly known as Fenerbahçe Ac?badem, emerged as the undisputed champions of the world in the FIVB Women’s Club World Championship in 2010.

Best Player Awards of the Final Four:

MVP: Jovana Brakocevic (Vak?fbank)

Best SPIKER: Rosir Calderon (Galatasaray)

Best BLOCKER: Natasa Krsmanovic (Rabita Baku)

Best SERVER: Maren Brinker (Unendo Yamamay)

Best LIBERO: Gizem Güresen (Vak?fbank)

Best RECEIVER: Yuko Sano (Galatasaray)

Best SETTER: Naz Aydemir (Vak?fbank)

Best SCORER: Madelaynne Montano (Rabita Baku)

source: http://www.todayszaman.com