ISLAMABAD: Pakistan will play three Tests, five one-dayers and two Twenty20s against Sri Lanka in United Arab Emirates later this year, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Friday.

The PCB has been forced to organize its home series _ mainly in the UAE _ because of security concerns among foreign teams about traveling to Pakistan. Sri Lanka was the last Test-playing country to tour Pakistan in 2009 when its bus transport to a ground was attacked by gunmen, leaving six police officials and a van driver dead.

Two years ago in the UAE, Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka 1-0 in the Tests and also won the ODI series 4-1.

This year the tour begins with Dubai hosting back to back Twenty20s on Dec. 11 and Dec. 13.

Pakistan is also likely to play a Twenty20 against Afghanistan on December 8, which would be the first between the two teams. Final confirmation of the match is due in a few days.

Pakistan will also play a two-Test, five one-day and two Twenty20 series against South Africa in the UAE in October-November.

Pakistan v Sri Lanka schedule:
Dec. 11: First Twenty20 at Dubai
Dec. 13: Second Twenty20 at Dubai
Dec. 18: First one-day international at Sharjah Dec. 20: Second one-day international at Dubai
Dec. 22: Third one-day international at Sharjah Dec. 25: Fourth one-day international at Abu Dhabi
Dec. 27: Fifth one-day international at Abu Dhabi
Dec. 31-Jan. 4: First Test at Dubai Jan. 8-12: Second Test at Abu Dhabi Jan. 16-20: Third Test at Sharjah.