HTC was the big winner at the T3 Gadget Awards with the company’s HTC One smartphone picking up three prizes.

The Android handset beat both the Apple iPhone 5 and the Samsung Galaxy S4 to win Phone of the Year – and also claimed Gadget of the Year and the T3 Design Award.

Samsung, Apple, Google and Sony were also recognised at the seventh annual T3s at Old Billingsgate in London.

Apple won two awards: Tablet of the Year and Computer of the Year for the iPad Mini and the Mac Book Air 11 inch.

Sony also got two prizes: for Digital Camera and TV of the Year.

Google took home Innovation of the Year for Google Glass while Samsung was named Tech Brand of the Year.

Other winners included Netflix, who won Digital Media Service of the Year, beating rivals including Sky, Microsoft and the BBC.

Tech Moment of the Year was awarded to Felix Baumgartner for his daring skydive from the edge of space a year ago.

On any other year his fellow nominees would have had a very good chance: the Curiosity Rover reaching Mars, Gangnam Style hitting one billion YouTube views, goal line technology being introduced in football, the battle between the Xbox One and PS4 at E3 and the UK launch of 4G.

But it’s difficult to compete with a man who fell to Earth from 128,097 feet.

“Fearless Felix” broke the sound barrier during his sky-dive in October last year, free-falling for four minutes and 19 seconds before landing smoothly in New Mexico.

T3 gave a new award last night with TED curator Chris Anderson getting their first ever Tech Legend prize.

Meanwhile, Michael Acton Smith, the creator of Moshi Monsters, won the Outstanding Contribution To Tech prize.

T3 magazine’s editor-in-chief Kieran Alger said: “Chris Anderson’s TED initiatives provide inspiration for a generation of enquiring tech minds while Michael Acton Smith’s army of Moshi Monsters has brought fun to a mind-boggling 80 million people across the planet.

“They’re both hugely deserving recipients.”

Jason Bradbury from The Gadget Show was named Tech Personality of the Year.

source: skynews