Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi won the toss and put New Zealand into bat in the first of two Twenty20 internationals in Dubai on Thursday.

Pakistan did not include opener Ahmed Shehzad and paceman Umar Gul despite them being included in the 15-man squad after achieving fitness.

New Zealand are without ace batsman Brendon McCullum and pace pair Tim Southee and Trent Boult who returned home after the three-Test series which ended in 1-1 draw.

The second match will also be played here on Friday.


Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Awais Zia, Haris Sohail, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Raza Hasan, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal… see more

source: dawn