BJP candidate Vasudev Devnani wins Ajmer (North) seat of Ajmer district by defeating his nearest rival of Congress Gopal by a margin of 20479 votes.

The BJP was heading for an impressive win in Rajasthan where it was leading in 139 out of 199 seats while ruling Congress was ahead in 36 seats.

National People’s Party and Independents candidates were leading in 8 seats each in initial rounds of trends.

Candidates of other parties were leading on 3 seats while BSP candidates were leading in two seats.

With trends indicating a clean sweep for the BJP, celebrations broke out in the party office with workers congratulating each other.

“We are confident that the party will come to power with clear majority and it will be a thumping victory,” said a party worker outside the BJP office.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot was leading in his Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur district by a margin of 4,619 votes against his BJP rival Shambhu Singh Khetasar.

BJP State president Vasundhara Raje was leading from her home constituency of Jhalarapatan in Jhalawar district by a margin of 3,923 votes against her nearest rival of Congress Meenakshi Chandrawat.

Discus thrower and Commonwealth Games medallist Krishna Poonia (Cong.) is trailing behind her BJP rival Kamla Kaswan on Sadulpur constituency in Churu district.Kaswan is leading by a margin of 22,088 votes after ten rounds of counting.

NPP’s General Secretary and sitting independent MLA Golma Devi is also trailing by 2,339 votes from Rajgarh-Laxmangarh seat after first round against Congress and BJP candidates.

Former royal Diya Kumari of BJP is trailing by 6,957 votes from Sawaimadhopur seat against Congress and BJP rivals.

Kiran Maheshwari of BJP is leading by a margin of 21,372 votes on Rajsamand seat against Congress candidate Hari Singh Rathore.

National People’s Party Convenor Kirori Lal Meena is leading by a margin of 1,675 in Lalsot constituency against Congress and BJP candidates…. see more

source: thehindu