PHOENIX — Though J.J. Watt made a strong case, the NFL — again — won’t have a defender as its Most Valuable Player.

That honor goes to Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, who won his second career MVP trophy Saturday at the 4th Annual NFL Honors at Symphony Hall in the Phoenix Convention Center. Rodgers beat out Watt and Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, among others.

Even though Watt emerged as a threat to become the league’s first defensive MVP since former Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor won in 1986, Rodgers claimed he knew he would win.

“Can I say yes?” he said with a smile when asked if he knew whether he would get the trophy. “I have some insider information, so that’s why I can say yes.”

Rodgers completed 65.6% of his passes for 4,381 yards and 38 touchdowns against just five interceptions. He helped lead the Packers to an 11-3 record, NFC North title and led the team to the NFC Championship Game before falling to the Seahawks two weeks ago.

Rodgers’ second MVP award ties him with Patriots quarterback Tom Brady for second among active players. Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has won the award five times, while retired players Jim Brown, Johnny Unitas and Brett Favre won the award three times.

“That’s a great list to be mentioned with those guys,” Rodgers said. “Peyton set the gold standard. He and Tom Brady did as far as quarterback play in my generation, so it’s incredible. It’s great. It just means that I’ve put up some consistent play.”

Rodgers secured 31 of 50 votes, beating out Watt’s 13. Other players to receive votes included Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (two), Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray (two), Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (one) and Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner (one)… see more

source: usatoday