Kimi Raikkonen won his first Grand Prix in three years, and became the first Lotus driver to win a Grand Prix in 25 years, after taking the checkered flag in a dramatic Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The Finnish driver tucked in behind Lewis Hamilton from the start and took over the lead after the McLaren’s challenge ended dur to an electrical fault on Lap 20.

Reigning World Champion Sebastian Vettel retained his lead in the drivers championship after finishing third, having been forced to start in the pits, with title rival Fernando Alonso taking second place.

The safety car was called into action twice during the race – once early on after a massive crash involving Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes and Narain Karthikeyan’s Hispania.

Rosberg’s car smashed into the rear end of Karthikeyan’s slower car and took off, flying over the Hispania before landing and hitting the barriers in the ninth lap of the 55 laps race.

Both drivers were unhurt in the accident at around 310 kph as the race was temporarily suspended for the introduction of a safety car at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Vettel now leads Alonso by 10 points in the driver’s championship, with just two races remaining.


Abu Dhabi Grand Prix placings

1. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 1hr 45min 58.667sec
2. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 0.852s behind
3. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 4.163
4. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 7.787
5. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 13.007
6. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 20.076
7. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 22.896
8. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 23.542
9. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 24.160
10. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 27.463
11. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes) 28.075
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso) 34.906
13. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 47.764
14. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 56.473
15. Sergio Perez (MEX/Sauber) 56.768
16. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham) 1:04.595
17. Pedro de la Rosa (ESP/HRT) 1:11.778