ISLAMABAD: Legislators belonging to the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) have topped the list of lawmakers who have yet to submit statements of their assets and liabilities to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

A total of 19 lawmakers, including three members of the National Assembly and eight each of the provincial assemblies of Punjab and Sindh, have been suspended for failing to submit their own statements of assets and of their spouses and dependants, more than five weeks after the deadline.

They include eight lawmakers of the PTI, six of the PPP, four of the PML-N and one of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Senior leaders of the PTI — including its chairman Imran Khan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Jehangir Tarin, Shafqat Mehmood and Dr Arif Alvi — have filed the statements and the failure of the party’s other legislators to do so appears to have nothing to do with their resignations.

The three suspended MNAs belonging to the PTI include its candidate for the office of speaker of the National Assembly, Shehryar Afridi (NA-14 Kohat), Muhammad Azhar Khan Jadoon (NA-17 Abbottabad) and Sajid Nawaz (NA-3 Peshawar).

When contacted, Mr Afridi said he could not file the statement because he had gone to Saudi Arabia to perform Haj. Mr Jadoon and Mr Nawaz could not be contacted for their comments despite repeated efforts… see more

source: dawn