Denmark’s Mads Rasmussen and Rasmus Quist took the gold in the men’s Lightweight Double Sculls, while Czech Republic’s Miroslava Knapkova won the women’s Single Sculls.

Great Britain’s Zac Purchase and Mark Hunter won the silver after a close finish to add to a successful morning for the Host Nation in the Rowing.

Bronze went to the New Zealand duo of Storm Uru and Peter Taylor.

The race earlier had to be restarted after Purchase and Hunter, the men’s Lightweight Double Scull champions in 2008, suffered a broken seat less than a hundred yards into the race.

The rest of the boats stopped and Purchase used a screwdriver to mend the seat.

It looked like the British pair were going to hang on for gold but they were pipped in the final few yards by Denmark.

In the women’s Single Sculls, silver went to Denmark and bronze to Australia.