TEHRAN – The director general of the Majlis Protocol Department on Sunday said top officials from 40 world states had so far voiced readiness to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Iranian president-elect Hassan Rohani. Mohammad Yasrebi said presidents of Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Lebanon, Armenia, North Korea, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Guinea Bissau and Togo are to take part in the ceremony slated for August 4, IRNA reported.

“Three prime ministers, five parliament speakers, five vice-presidents and 10 foreign ministers will be surely present in the oath-taking ceremony of the Iranian president-elect,” said Yasrebi. He said the deputy secretary general of the United Nations and former Malaysian prime minister, Mahathir Mohamad are also to participate in the ceremony. “The acting president of Iraq will also attend the August 4 ceremony in Iran due to Jalal Talabanis illness,” he said. Yasrebi said the number of European countries attending the ceremony is still uncertain, adding that American officials have not been invited to the event. The foreign guests are planned to be in the Iranian capital on August 3.

source: Pakistan today